News article

11 months ago - 4/6/2018

19 countries and 12 clubs involved in the fresh edition of the All-star Team vote

For the fifth consecutive season the European Handball Federation gives fans the opportunity to vote for their Women’s EHF Champions League All-star Team.

Every season thousands of fans participate in the vote and as the vote has become a regular feature in the culminating season, the EHF has once again nominated 50 players and coaches as a preliminary all-star selection.

Voting starts on Friday 6 April, the first quarter-final match day, and closes on Tuesday, 8 May 2018 at midnight. Fans can choose their team via the facebook voting tool.

Voters have the chance not only to select the best player in each position and the best defender, there will be five nominees each, but also for the best young player (born in 1995 or later) and the best coach.

These players represent no fewer than 19 different nations and 12 clubs from the current Women’s EHF Champions League season.

While four awardees of last season’s All-star Team made it back to the vote, in total only 15 nominees out of 50 names from the 2016/17 edition have returned.

Again, handball media professionals and a panel of experts will also be involved with each branch having a fair, one-third weight on the final selection alongside fans.

The All-star Team will be announced during the Women’s EHF FINAL4 in Budapest on 12/13 May 2018.

Players have been nominated on the basis of their comprehensive performance throughout the season so far; not just their goal-getting prowess, but also their performance in defence, the number of blocks, assists and reaction in crucial moments during each match.

Enter the vote here

The players nominated for the 2017/18 All-star Team are:

Amandine Leynaud (FRA) - HC Vardar (MKD)
Paula Ungureanu (ROU) - CSM Bucuresti (ROU)
Marina Rajcic (MNE) - Metz Handball (FRA)
Mayssa Pessoa (BRA) - Rostov-Don (RUS)
Kari Aalvik Grimsbo (NOR) - Györi Audi ETO KC (HUN)
Left wing
Siraba Dembele (FRA) - Rostov-Don (RUS)
Laerke Pedersen (DEN) - NFH - Nykøbing Falster Håndboldklub (DEN)
Itana Grbic (MNE) - Buducnost (MNE)
Manon Houette (FRA) - Metz Handball (FRA)
Anita Görbicz (HUN) - Györi Audi ETO KC (HUN)

Left back                             
Andrea Penezic (CRO) - HC Vardar (MKD)
Djurdjina Jaukovic (MNE) - Buducnost (MNE)
Cristina Neagu (ROU) - CSM Bucuresti (ROU)
Johanna Westberg (SWE)  - NFH - Nykøbing Falster Håndboldklub (DEN)
Karolina Kudlacz-Gloc (POL) - SG BBM Bietigheim (GER)
Centre back                       
Veronica Kristiansen (NOR) - FC Midtjylland (DEN)
Milena Raicevic (MNE) - Buducnost (MNE)
Aniko Kovacsics (HUN) - FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria (HUN)
Grace Zaadi (FRA) - Metz Handball (FRA)
Iveta Luzumova (CZE) - Thüringer HC (GER)
Line player                         
Dragana Cvijic (SRB) - HC Vardar (MKD)
Marit Frafjord (NOR) - CSM Bucuresti (ROU)
Yvette Broch (NED) - Györi Audi ETO KC (HUN)
Sarah Iversen (DEN) - NFH - Nykøbing Falster Håndboldklub (DEN)
Olga Perederiy (UKR) - RK Krim Mercator (SLO)

Read the profiles from the nominated goalkeepers, left wings, left backs, centre backs and line players here

Right back                          
Louise Burgaard (DEN) - FC Midtjylland (DEN)
Alexandra Lacrabere (FRA) - HC Vardar (MKD)
Ana Gros (SLO) - Metz Handball (FRA)
Anna Vyakhireva (RUS) - Rostov-Don (RUS)
Nerea Pena (ESP) - FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria (HUN)

Right wing                          
Iuliia Managarova (RUS) - Rostov-Don (RUS)
Viktoria Lukacs (HUN) - FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria (HUN)
Dijana Ujkic (MNE) - Buducnost (MNE)
Ayaka Ikehara (JAP) - NFH - Nykøbing Falster Håndboldklub (DEN)
Lydia Jakubisova (SVK) - Thüringer HC (GER)
Best defender                  
Zsuzsanna Tomori (HUN) - Györi Audi ETO KC (HUN)
Ksenia Makeeva (RUS) - Rostov-Don (RUS)
Anna Lagerqvist (SWE) - NFH - Nykøbing Falster Håndboldklub (DEN)
Camille Ayglon (FRA) - CSM Bucuresti (ROU)
Mathilde Bjerregaard (DEN) - FC Midtjylland (DEN)

Young player
Dorottya Faluvegi (HUN) - FTC-Rail Cargo Hungaria (HUN)
Tjasa Stanko (SLO) - RK Krim Mercator (SLO)
Helene Fauske (NOR) - FC Midtjylland (DEN)
Tatjana Brnovic (MNE) - Buducnost (MNE)
Orlane Kanor (FRA) - Metz Handball (FRA)

Ambros Martin (ESP) - Györi Audi ETO KC/HUN
Emmanuel Mayonnade (FRA) - Metz Handball/FRA
Dragan Adzic (MNE) – Buducnost/MNE
Irina Dibirova (RUS) - HC Vardar (RUS)
Frederic Bougeant (FRA) - Rostov-Don (RUS)

Read the profiles from the nominated right backs, right wings, defenders, young players and coaches here

Enter the vote of the Women's EHF Champions League 2017/18 All-star Team here

Author: EHF / br
English Magyar